Perspectives

While I was thinking about Frazer Hudson’s suggestion during our discussion day before, about different perspectives in storytelling, I got reminded of an assignment I worked on during my undergraduate studies. The assignment was a part of ‘Illustration course’ where I was given a story to illustrate in three frames. There were three characters in the story and I had an option to select one character to illustrate the story from his point of view. The three characters were,

Rehman – a wealthy man

Abdul – a servant of Rehman

Death – fictional character (villain)

I had chosen Rehman’s point of view and the result was as follows. It was very interesting to see other point of views and I realised how a single story could be told in different ways just by changing perspective.
pov 1pov 2pov 3

The gist of the story is,

 Abdul spots death in a market. frightened Abdul runs away from it as fast as he can.

 

 

 

He goes to his master (Rehman) and asks for his help.

 

 

 

 

Rehman, a kind man gives money to Abdul and asks him to leave the town and save himself.

 

 

 

 

 

Relating this to my current project, it will be really interesting to see different people’s take on memories in general or on a particular type of memory from childhood; For example, “my first day of school” or “my first love”. Since memories are very personal and individualistic, it can be a good exercise for me to test if my illustrated memories (that I feel are very rich with feelings, contents) make sense to other people, see if they can relate to it. It will also be very interesting to make a collection of different people’s memories and try to look for connecting threads.

 

Perspectives

Leave a Reply

